Reviews, News, and How To Geeks

Download Our Windows 7 Tips!

Why do I have 17 emails from geeks members telling me to join+!@#$.com? I joined after the first email, thinking that they were affiliated with Geeks, but they're not.

Are these people getting reprimanded or banned for spamming? Or am I missing something?

The email:

"Hello fellow GEEKS!
This is a message to all of you that just want more. I am telling you about a amazing site:
http://www.gorocketfire.com/ (the www. is important, withought it, it doesnt work)
Please come and join us on our network that is simular to geeks.pirillo.com!
We are having constant giveaways like, 1 week ago, we gave away a iPhone and MAC OSX DVD, this week, we gave away a Macbook 13" (the new ones) and next week, we are giving away a 32GB ipod touch.
I hope that you can join us on Rocketfire, come and join, and remember, we like entertaining our members, that iPod touch 32 gb, might be yours."

Tags: rocketfire

Share

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

This person has been reported to Ning and we are working on getting his network shut down and IP blocked from Geeks. Thanks for voicing your concern. We take spam on this network very seriously and it is against Ning's Terms of Service that are agreed upon when a member joins. I hope this suffices and I will be closing this discussion.

Reply to This

I'll reopen this thread. If you are a victim of this+!@#$ Spam, please let us know what user name and preferrably a link to their profile so we can ban them. Thanks.

Reply to This

Reply to This

Reply to This

Arthur, 2 spam messages
Doug, 4 spam messages
iAlex, 1 spam message

Reply to This

Now see, that's what I am talking about. This is a case of true spamming. It would be one thing for these guys to have a small, unobtrusive link at the bottom of their posts, but they took it too far and really annoyed a lot of people. I must say that I think that+!@#$ is ran by some kids, so let this be a lesson to them on how to properly act next time. Hopefully, they will get their acts together so people will actually want to interact with them.

~Comickey
www.DANIELVINING.com
GO GEEKS.pirillo.com!

Reply to This

My name is Doug, but my url is Doug70; Insanity I am not spaming you leave me alone.

Reply to This

This isn't the same Doug that was spamming people. Admins can see his IP and it's not the same. http://geeks.pirillo.com/profile/Doug673 was the spammer and has been banned.

Reply to This

I agree Comickey. Something like what you have of the end of your post is fine, they just took it way to far.

Reply to This

This is really starting to annoy me now. I think they are spamming and shouldn't be allowed to continue. rocket fire sounds great and all, but we only want to hear about it the one time.

Reply to This

Several days ago I opted to not receive email from this group. I'm happy I made this decision. Any information I need from Geeks can be had by coming here to the site and actively participating. I'd rather leave my email open to real email.

Reply to This

I got my spam from ialex and Doug Ban them!

Reply to This

RSS

© 2009   Created by Chris Pirillo

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy  |  Terms of Service